Cricket

A Ground of great historical significance

Belmont Cricket Ground

To cricket fans the Belmont Cricket ground is of great historic significance.

A superb batsman and fielder the 4th Lord Harris captained the Kent team for many years and received them at Belmont. In 1878 he captained the England team and took them to Australia for a test match that instigated the Ashes test series.

Our full cricket fixture list can be viewed below.

For generations of cricket connoisseurs, alongside Lords and the Oval, Belmont was a pre-eminent ground at which to play.

It was fitting that the first game on the newly restored pitch was played on 27th May 2007 between the Trustees Belmont XI and the Band of Brothers. The match took place in the shadow of the Prospect Tower and no doubt the "spectre" of the 4th Lord Harris looked upon it with enthusiasm.

This hallowed pitch is now ready to welcome enthusiasts of the game and for hire by wandering teams. For reservation please contact Belmont on 01795 890 202.

2020 Cricket Fixtures

We show below the fixtures that are currently scheduled for 2020 - please get in touch if you would like to play on our wonderful Cricket pitch Tel 01795 890202.

  • Sat 16th May – Eastling Cricket Club
  • Sat 23rd May – Badlesmere v The Rogues
  • Sun 24th May – Shepway Stragglers v Standard Athletic Club 13:00
  • Sat 13th June – Simon Botting XI
  • Sun 14th June – Eastling Cricket Club
  • Sun 21st June – Badlesmere v The Haymakers
  • Sat 28th June – Eastling Cricket Club
  • Sat 4th July – Trustees XI v BB
  • Sun 12th July – Eastling Cricket Club
  • Sat 1st August – The Purchasers
  • Sat 8th August – Shepway Stragglers v The Fixture Secretary 13:00
  • Sun 23rd August – Pullens Merorial Match
  • Sun 30th August – Badlesmere v Dr Toms
  • Sat 5th September – James Mathewson XXII 10:30
  • Sat 19th September – GB Construction XI
  • Sun 27th September – Eastling